At 25: “Look Who’s Talking”

Leave a comment

October 13, 2014 by billysparrow

Look_whos_talking

Look Who’s Talking

Released: October 13, 1989

Starring: Kirstie Alley, John Travolta, Bruce Willis, George Segal, Abe Vigoda

Oh, the things Look Who’s Talking gave to us! John Travolta’s comeback! Abe Vigoda! Unnecessary sequels! A TV show that no one liked! Probably that creepy e*trade baby!

But, in all seriousness — and, let’s face it, this is very serious work I am doing here — Look Who’s Talking still holds up pretty well 25 years after its release (and, yes, it is taking a lot of self-control to not make a joke here about how the actual cast is holding up, so, please, commend me for my restraint) and provides a pretty painless viewing experience. And I can say that because I’ve just finished watching it and am experiencing no more than the usual pain one incurs when eating too much bread pudding while watching a movie.

To recap, Molly (Kirstie Alley) gets pregnant by the married Albert (George Segal), who finally does leave his wife, but only to move in with his interior decorator, and thus not be a father to their child. Molly finds out that last part just before going into labor on the streets of fake New York (Vancouver). She hails a cab driven by James (John Travolta), who takes her on a fast, hazardous ride through the streets of fake New York to get her to the hospital, where she gives birth to Mikey (voiced by Bruce Willis, in what legitimately might be his best movie work, save for “Die Hard”). Things happen, we hear what Mikey thinks along the way, and, well, guess how things end up?

I should point out (yes, I should; I just double-checked) that while I’m not sure if this movie was the point at which I developed a crush on Kirstie Alley, it definitely was around this time. Watching now, I don’t see anything that would make me fall in lust, but, then again, I am no longer in seventh grade anymore, so perhaps that happened a little easier back then. But, hey, she’s good in the movie.

And, as I was reminded while going through my prework ritual of watching Match Game last week, she was a Match Game contestant prior to becoming an actress. And, really, what’s hotter than that?

But wait, there’s more. Kirstie Alley made the game show circuit. YouTube searching has also revealed that she was a contestant on Password Plus. No wonder I had a crush on her. She was on two of the best game shows of all time! I don’t know how we’re not married. Scientology maybe.

But I guess I should say more about the movie. Did I mention Abe Vigoda is in it? And how could anything with Abe Vigoda not be worth watching?

And the movie also benefits from good music serving as the backing for a few scenes. Aside from the “Town Without Pity” clip above, there’s this Beach Boys-aided clip:

Sadly, the scene featuring Katrina and the Waves’ “Walking on Sunshine” is somehow not on YouTube. The world is so disappointing at times. If only there were a song that could somehow lift one’s spirits when confronted by such disheartening moments. Oh wait…

You really do have to be a monster not to like that song.

And, on one last musical note (is that a pun?…was it intended?…we’ll never know), the movie ends strongly, with Pete Townshend’s “Let My Love Open the Door” playing over the end credits (and then, oddly, ending before the credits are over, leaving an eerie silence as we discover the movie was filmed in Vancouver). Some kind soul appears to have assembled a video mixing the actual video with clips from the movie. See, people are still doing good things out there.

Should I be talking about the movie more rather than just posting game show clips and music videos? Probably. But, really what do you want me to say? It’s a movie built around the idea of hearing what babies would say if they could talk. The kid’s cute, the jokes are funny enough, and Travolta and Alley are very likable. It’s not a movie that really demands a thorough analysis. You’re either going to think the concept is funny enough to watch or you’re not. And if you’re not, I’m assuming you’re one of those monsters who sits emotionless when you hear “Walking on Sunshine.” May the Lord have mercy on your soul.

 

Leave a Reply

